From the monthly archives: "January 2011"

Portland, ME – Northern New England’s oval track stock car season is several weeks away, as the Daytona International Speedway gates swing open for the start of the NASCAR season.

Just days after the big 500 in Florida, the 18th annual edition of the region’s biggest wintertime stock car racing showcase, Racin’ Preview 2011 at the Portland Expo, opens its doors Friday, February 25 and Saturday, February 26.
Read Full Article →

Ganassi Racing Brings Home Fourth Rolex 24 At Daytona

No. 01 entry holds off No. 02 car for 1-2 Ganassi Racing finish

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates’ magical run continued on Sunday with their fourth overall victory in the 49th Rolex 24 At Daytona at Daytona International Speedway.
In the final minutes of America’s premier sports car race, a late caution suddenly turned the Rolex 24 At Daytona into a sprint race.

The No. 01 BMW Riley with driver Scott Pruett behind the wheel held off the sister Ganassi Racing car – the No. 02 BMW Riley and driver Scott Dixon – on a final green and white restart to capture one of the most competitive twice-around-the-clock challenges in history.
Read Full Article →

Homecoming Sweet For SoCal’s Bowles – 2009 K&N West Champ Returns For Showdown Victory

IRWINDALE, Calif. – Jason Bowles got the one victory that had alluded him during his NASCAR K&N Pro Series West career. The Ontario, Calif., native drove the No. 75 Rusty Wallace Racing Experience Toyota to the win in the NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown Saturday night.

Bowles grabbed the lead on the race’s final restart and held off DJ Kennington through the final eight laps. The win for Bowles, the 2009 NASCAR K&N Pro Series West champion, came in front of a sold-out crowd at NASCAR’s premier short-track event.
Read Full Article →

ISOC Eastern Nationals next stop for East Coast Snocross series,
Presented by Woody’s Traction & AMSOIL

CHESHIRE, Conn. (Jan. 28, 2011) – After a much-needed weekend off for snowmobile race teams across the northeast, engines will once again rev up to full song as the national circuit comes to our own back yards.

Teams and officials at East Coast Snocross (ECS) are preparing to join the International Series of Champions (ISOC) at the Vision KIA Eastern Nationals on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 4-5, at the Finger Lakes Casino and Racetrack in Farmington, New York.
Read Full Article →

Devil’s Bowl champion edges Thunder Road’s Sweet in online vote

SOUTH BURLINGTON, VT – Stock car racing champion Don Miller has been named the Vermont Motorsports Magazine 2010 Driver of the Year by readers of

Nearly 24,000 votes were cast across ten categories in a two-week online poll at the Vermont Motorsports Magazine website. Wells, Vt., driver Miller earned 22% of the vote in the overall VMM 2010 Driver of the Year category. The Sportsman Modified track champion at West Haven’s Devil’s Bowl Speedway edged Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl track champion Nick Sweet of Barre by just two percentage points for the award.
Read Full Article →

Story by Beaulieu Racing PR

The 2010 season was a breakout year for Evan Beaulieu and the Beaulieu Racing team in the Amsoil Nelcar Legends Tour. After a decent rookie year followed by a disastrous sophomore slump in 2009, the team was hard at work to make 2010 much better and the results showed. The team grabbed 4 wins, including the biggest of the year at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in the National Qualifier, and ended the season bidding for a championship, and finished second overall with the #56 Hancock Lumber Legends Car.

Going into 2011, Evan will graduate from the Semi-Pro ranks to the Pro ranks in Legends Cars and the team will take what they learned throughout 2010 and focus on being more consistent and having a shot at the championship again this year. They took a trip down to the Legends Nationals and finished eighth in the Semi-Pro A-Main, but came home with a lot more knowledge that will help them in the new year.

Read Full Article →

NASCAR Adds Wild Card Element To Setting The Chase Field; Simplifies Points System

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Jan. 26, 2011) — NASCAR announced Wednesday that it has added a wild card element to setting the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup field and it has simplified its points system for 2011, making it easier for fans, competitors and the industry to understand.

While the 12-driver Chase field remains intact, the final two spots will be determined by the number of wins during the first 26 races.

The top 10 in points following Race No. 26 – the “cutoff” race – continue to earn Chase berths.

Positions 11 and 12 are “wild card” qualifiers and will go to non-top-10-ranked drivers with the most wins, as long as they’re ranked in the top 20 in points. The top-10 Chase drivers will continue to be seeded based on wins during the first 26 races, with each win worth three bonus points. The wild card drivers will not receive bonus points for wins and will be seeded 11th and 12th, respectively. It’s a move aimed towards rewarding winning and consistency during the regular season. Read Full Article →

ACT Logo

ACT Logo

Waterbury, VT – The American Canadian Tour (ACT) announced today that Motorsports Hall of Famer and former CBS Senior Motorsports Editor Ken Squier will join Motor Racing Network (MRN) and Sirius Radio host Dave Moody at the ACT Goodyear Speedweeks Cup events in Florida next month.

Squier, founder and co-owner of Thunder Road Speedbowl in Barre, VT has been synonymous with Daytona Speedweeks since the 1960’s. He was the public address announcer for many years, beginning in 1965, co-founded the Motor Racing Network, and he may be most recognized as the person most responsible in brokering the 1979 CBS television network first ever live four-hour broadcast of the Daytona 500 between the network, the Daytona Int’l Speedway and NASCAR. Squier still is active in short track racing and many nights will be behind the microphone at the Thursday night weekly races at Thunder Road. He shared the radio broadcast duties with Dave Moody at the first ACT Invitational held at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2009. Squier will continue his work with Speed Channel next month, bringing historic insights to viewers throughout the 2011 Speedweek events at Daytona. He will also call the first-ever ACT event at the New Smyrna Speedway on Sunday night, February 13, 2011.
Read Full Article →

ACT Logo

ACT Logo

South Burlington, VT – Seven-time American Canadian Tour (ACT) Champion Brian Hoar of Williston was honored for his 2011 ACT Late Model Tour stock car championship on Saturday, January 22 at the Sheraton-Burlington Hotel and Conference Center in South Burlington. Hoar earned three wins and never finished outside the top ten in the 13 event 2011 season. The championship was his second in a row with car owner and crew chief Rick Paya, who also has seven career titles as a crew chief and owner. Over 400 team, fans and officials were in attendance to help celebrate the team’s championship, which included a $10,000 point fund check. The team earned over $30,000 for their efforts in 2010.

The 42nd Annual MacTavish Award was given to two-time Série ACT Castrol Edge Champion Donald Theetge of Boischatel, Quebec for his dedication to Northeast stock car racing and ACT for over two decades. The prestigious MacTavish Award is named for legendary New England racer Don MacTavish who was killed in 1969 while racing at Daytona International Speedway. Theetge began racing with ACT in 1988 on the former Pro Stock Tour and has been one of the most skilled and respected drivers in the Northeast and Quebec ever since. He accepted the award at the 2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Banquet of Champions in Quebec City, Quebec on Saturday, January 15.
Read Full Article →